Petra Stehlíková - Interview (B2)

31.08.2021

Petra Stehlíková is a top Czech fantasy writer. Her novel Naslouchač (2016) was accepted by readers very well as well as its second sequel, Faja (2019) The third one, Nasterea, which has come out this year, earned the same positive reception. What has she revealed about the pentalogy, her inspiration and her favourite books and authors?

Can you tell us the title of the next sequel and when it will come out?

There is only a working title for my 4th sequel, which I am not very satisfied with, so it will probably be changed. I don't want to confuse the readers. I can't reveal the release date either  because  the book has not been finished yet and based on the previous experience, when Nasterea was postponed a few times because of me, I am going to announce the 4th sequel when I send it to the publisher. And even then I may not be completely relaxed.

Have you had a clear vision of the whole story since the beginning? 

First I made up the end. At least regarding  some characters. I usually start from the end in all my stories. You can't write a pentalogy without knowing where certain characters will end up, what their past is like or what will change in the fictional world. I can change certain situations during writing but I must follow the key points which I have set up.

So there is no hope that Naslouchač will have more than  five previously announced parts?

No. Naslouchač is a pentalogy and it will remain like this. In each sequel I describe a certain part of my story. And it makes 5 parts.

Can we expect any romance?

Actually, it is already there. However, it depends what a reader expect from it. Considering the unpleasant fact that I am not a typical romantic, bouquets of red roses and candlelit dinners are not going to happen. 

Would you be happy about an offer to make a film based on Naslouchač?

I don't think about such things. If you realize how many books is coming out and how many films are really made, it's pointless to even think about it.

Where do you draw inspiration from?

These ideas must come on their own accord. If an idea, which I could possibly use in the future, occurs, I immediately write it down. I know from my own experience that if I don't note it down, I will forget it in a few minutes. Once in a while I put these short thoughts in a file and from time to time I check them to see if I can use something.

Do you sometimes visit Databáze knih? Either to see ratings and comments of your books or those you are going to read yourself?

I have been registered on DK for many years.but I have never been active in writing comments. I use DB rather as a reading log to remember what I have read. And since Naslouchač came out, I haven't dared to rate an author or even to list their shortcomings. As for the comments about Naslouchač, I don't pay as much attention to them as before, but from time to time I have a look and I read some of them.

What book are you reading at the moment or what did you last read?

I have been taking The Last Odyssey by J. Rollins in the boot of my car, but I can't manage to work my way to it. I don't have much time to reading now and I don't like reading a few pages for weeks. I am looking forward to the while when certain worries pass away and I get down to that pile of books.

Who are your favourite authors?

First it is Daphne du Maurier whom I read a lot in adolescence. Then I like above mentioned James Rollins or Lincoln Child and Douglas Preston, especially their series with agent Pendergast. But as I say, I have a lot of backlog in everything.


Adapted from Databáze knih

Images credit: Databáze knih

Vocabulary to learn

bouguet [bəʊˈkeɪ] - kytice, pugét

reception [rɪˈsepʃən] - přijetí

inspiration [ˌɪnspɪˈreɪʃən] - inspirace

draw inspiration (from) [drɔːˌɪnspɪˈreɪʃən] - čerpat inspiraci (z)

sequel [ˈsiːkwəl] - pokračování, další díl

come out [kʌm aʊt] - vyjít (kniha)

satisfied [ˈsætɪsfaɪd] - spokojený

reveal [rɪˈviːl] - prozradit

postpone  [pəʊstˈpəʊn ] - odložit

vision [ˈvɪʒən] - vize

regarding [rɪˈgɑːdɪŋ] - týkající se

pentalogy [pɛnˈtælɒdʒɪ] - pentalogie

romance [ rəmæns] - romantika

rose  [rəʊz] - růže

accord [əˈkɔːd]; on its own accord - samo (od sebe)

rating [ˈreɪtɪŋ] - hodnocení

dare [deə] - odvážit se

pile [paɪl] - hromada

agent [ˈeɪdʒənt] - agent

backlog [ˈbækˌlɒg] - resty, nevyřízené záležitosti

pointless [ˈpɔɪntləs] - zbytečný

shortcoming [ˈʃɔːtˌkʌmɪŋ] - nedostatek

working title [ˈwɜːkɪŋˈtaɪtə] - pracovní název

release date [rɪˈliːs deɪt] - datum vydání

candlelit [ˈkændəlˌlɪt] - osvětlený svíčkami

reading log [ˈriːdɪŋ lɒg] - čtenářský deník

pass away [pɑːs əˈweɪ] - pominout


Learn & practice some of the vocabulary HERE.


I


Lucky English © All rights reserved 2021
Vytvořeno službou Webnode
Vytvořte si webové stránky zdarma! Tento web je vytvořený pomocí Webnode. Vytvořte si vlastní stránky zdarma ještě dnes! Vytvořit stránky